Richard Strauss at 150

Richard Strauss at 150
Strauss: Overture to Le bourgeois gentilhomme Suite, op. 60 for Wind Quintet and Piano

Robert Schumann: Adagio and Allegro for Horn and Piano, op. 70

Strauss: Flute Sonata in E-flat major, Op. 18

— Intermission —

Strauss: Moonlight Music, from Capriccio

Strauss: Till Eulenspiegels lustige Streiche, op.28 for Wind Quintet and Piano

Program Overview
On the heels of Richard Wagner’s 200th anniversary, Zéphyros presents a program to commemorate the sesquicentennial of one of his most famous disciples, Richard Strauss. The 150th anniversary of Strauss’ birth presents an opportunity to explore the composer of grandiose orchestral scores and scandalous opera, on a more intimate level. Included on this program is the Adagio and Allegro for horn and piano by Robert Schumann. Strauss’ life-long affection for the horn began at an early age. His father, Franz, was principal horn of the Munich Court Orchestra and though Richard once described his father as “vehement, irascible and tyrannical,” he was recognized as Germany’s leading virtuoso of the instrument, especially in performing the music of Richard Wagner. In fact Wagner himself once said that Franz Strauss was a “detestable fellow, but when he plays the horn you can’t be angry with him.” In addition, Zéphyros performs four works in transcription: The improvisatory Sonata in E flat major, The Overture to Le bourgeois gentilhomme Suite arranged by flutist Jennifer Grim, and after the intermission, Moonlight Music from Struass’ final opera Capriccio, and Till Eulenspiegels lustige Streiche in David Carp’s adroit setting for winds and piano.

Zéphyros offers this program with pianist Rieko Aizawa
riekoazawa Praised by the NY Times for her “impressive musicality, a crisp touch and expressive phrasing,” Japanese pianist Rieko Aizawa has performed in solo and orchestral engagements throughout the U.S., Canada and Europe, including Lincoln Center’s Avery Fisher Hall, Boston’s Symphony Hall and Chicago’s Orchestra Hall. Highlights of recent seasons have included acclaimed performances with the New Japan Philharmonic under Seiji Ozawa, the English Chamber Orchestra under Heinz Holliger, the Festival Strings Lucerne in Switzerland under Rudolf Baumgartner, the St. Paul Chamber Orchestra under Hugh Wolff, the Curtis Institute Orchestra with Peter Oundjian, the St. Louis Symphony under David Loebel and a wonderfully received performance with the Vienna Chamber Orchestra.

An avid chamber musician, Ms. Aizawa has performed with the Guarneri Quartet, the Orion Quartet, the Shanghai Quartet and the Amelia Piano Trio, and she has appeared in numerous festivals, such as the Marlboro Music Festival, U.S.A.; the Kammermusik Festival Moritzburg, Germany; and the Evian Festival, France. She also has been a guest artist of Boston’s, Philadelphia’s and Seattle’s Chamber Music Society. Ms. Aizawa is a founding member of Horszowski Trio as well as the prize winning ensemble Duo Prism. Ms. Aizawa became the artistic director of the Alpenglow Chamber Music Festival in Colorado in 2010.