CAPRICE – Saint-Saens and the Parisian School of Woodwind Playing

Program: Zephyros Winds with piano

Camille Saint-Saëns: Caprice sur des airs danois et russes, op. 79 for Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Piano

Franz Doppler: Fantasie Pastoral Hongroise, op. 26 Flute and Piano

Saint-Saëns: Romance for Horn and Piano, op. 36

Frances Poulenc: Trio for Oboe, Bassoon, and Piano

– Intermission –

Saint-Saëns: Tarantella for Flute, Clarinet, and Piano, op. 6

Paul Taffanel: Quintet for Winds

Program Overview
In 1887, Saint-Saëns invited three celebrated French wind soloists, flautist Paul Taffanel, oboist George Gillet, and clarinetist Charles Turban, to join him for a series of performances in St. Petersburg. A highlight of these concerts was the Caprice sur des airs danois et russes for flute, oboe, clarinet, and piano, which Saint-Saëns composed especially to perform with his colleagues on tour.

Zéphyros takes these Russia programs as a starting point for an exploration of the sophisticated world of Parisian wind playing that Saint-Saëns did so much to celebrate and develop.