Luminaries and Legacy, the German Masters

German Masters Program

August Klughardt: Wind Quintet, op. 79

C.P.E. Bach: Sonata in A minor, for solo flute

Clara Schumann: Three Fugues on Themes of JS Bach, for Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon, Horn

Franz Danzi: Wind Quintet No.2 in g minor, Op.56

— Intermission —

Wolfgang Rihm: Quintett für Bläser

Mendelssohn: A Midsummer Night’s Dream, op. 61

Program Overview
The German masters of the 18th and 19th centuries continue to influence the writing for winds today. Drawing from luminary German composers Mendelssohn and Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach, and masters of the wind quintet repertoire Franz Danzi and August Klughardt, this program puts on display the full array of colors, textures, and emotion of which the wind quintet is capable. An arrangement of Clara Schumann’s Fugues on Themes of JS Bach and Wolfgang Rihm’s monumental quintet from 2003 round out the program, ending with a brilliant arrangement of Mendelssohn’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream.