German Masters, Zéphyros Winds with Piano

German Masters, Zéphyros Winds with Piano

Beethoven: Quintet in E-flat for Piano and Winds Op. 16

C.P.E. Bach: Sonata in A minor, for solo flute

Franz Danzi: Wind Quintet No.2 in g minor, Op.56

— Intermission —

Mendelssohn: A Midsummer Night’s Dream, op. 61

Strauss: Till Eulenspiegels lustige Streiche, op.28 for Wind Quintet and Piano

Program Overview
From the pioneering figures of Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach and Beethoven, to the fantastical imagery of Mendelssohn and Strauss, Zéphyros Winds presents a program of masterworks of the wind literature from the 18th and 19th centuries. In this program with piano, we feature Beethoven’s early Quintet for Piano and Winds and David Carp’s colorful arrangement of Richard Strauss’s Till Eulenspiegel’s Merry Pranks.